Women’s Rights

I’ve been hearing a lot about certain politicians stomping on women’s rights. I’m talking about denying women equal pay for equal work, and trying to overturn Roe vs. Wade. What is striking to me is that they say they want less government. Why do they want the government to dictate women’s lives? I don’t hear them saying men should abstain from sex or not use a condom or get snipped. Nothing like that. But according to them women are not allowed to have an abortion even if she is raped or in danger of dying or cannot take care of a child. On top of that, these old men don’t want us to use birth control to prevent pregnancy. Does that make sense. They say abstinence is the only answer. Fine. From now I vote never to have sex with any Republican men.

If a young woman does get pregnant and she can’t afford to take care of the child, who pays the bills? Once the child is born, they don’t care anymore. So send the bills to her representative. Men, you can’t have it both ways. No sex for you! Or you can pay the price!

Women, stand up for your rights as an equal to any man. You deserve equal pay because most women work harder than men anyway, plus raise children and run a home. And do it better. You are smart and know what is right for your body more than any man. Don’t misunderstand me, I don’t dislike men. But no one, especially old men in government, can tell me what I can do with my body. I can say these things because by golly I’ve earned the right and I’m old enough not to have more children.

As for abortion, I’m not saying I’m for it. I’m not, for myself. That’s my choice. But that’s the point. Choice. The point is that the government should not be able to tell us what to do with our bodies. Do they put restrictions on men? I think these men are afraid of us. They want to control us and they think they can legislate control. They don’t have a platform of their own so they pick abortion, low pay for women, and marriage rights. They want to force religion – their religion – into the government. I say: Mind you own business, go to your own church, marry whom you want and leave government to those intelligent and sane enough to run the country – like the man who is there right now.

About Laura

I am the author of the Niki Alexander mysteries, Less Dead and Lost Witness. The third in the series, A Matter of Revenge, will be available in late September 2016. The Flawed Dance, set in the late sixties about a young woman fleeing from her past and survives as a go-go dancer in a demimonde world of gangsters, thugs, and beautiful people.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

